History and Achievements

2007

  • UQROP's becomes the owner of land located next to Chouette à voir! A grant from the Hydro-Québec Foundation for the environment and a second one from the EJLB foundation has made this purchase possible. The natural site of UQROP now covers 21 hectares.

2006

  • Permanent installation in the Welcome Pavilion of the exhibit «Sky Hunters», created by UQROP and the Museum of Sherbrooke's Seminary.

2005

  • Construction of the visitors Welcome Pavilion at Chouette à voir!

​2002

  • Running water is available at Chouette à voir!
  • Showing off of birds of prey at Granby Zoo. These will take place until 2005.

2000

  • Presentation cages are added in the Owls trail. New cages are added until 2002.

1998

  • Setting up of the «Discovery Hall», a collection of interactive games traveling through the schools of the St-Hyacinthe School Board. Students and teachers do autonomous visits.
  • The site Chouette à voir! is declared «Regional winner, Grand Prizes of Québec Tourism, Sustainable and responsible Tourism».

1996

  •  First visitors at Chouette à voir!
  • Inauguration of the exhibit «Shy Hunters», a co-production of UQROP and the Museum of Sherbrooke's Seminary. The exhibit will tour the province of Québec during 10 years.

1995

  • Inauguration of the rehabilitation aviairies
  • In addition to the educational animation adapted to the different age groups, a training is offered to teachers to allow them to know better birds of prey and to use the kit «Lets talk falcon».
  • Development of trails on the site of Chouette à voir! There are 11 interpretive panels strung out along the trails.

1994

  • 81 telephone posts are set in the ground and will serve as the foundations to the rehabilitation aviairies complex. It is the beginning of the construction.
  • The Canadian Armed Forces have collaborated to the project by opening the access road, setting up a parking area and building a Bailey type bridge over the Salvail River. The bridge was inaugurated on October 20th, 1994.
  • Installation of the last Coroplast sheets over the aviairies.

1993

  • Preparation of the future Chouette à voir! site by Flore-Aimée and Guy Benoît. The infrastructures to set up on the site include an access road, a bridge over the Salvail River, a parking area, an educational pavilion, interpretation cages and a rehabilitation aviaries complex.

1992

  • Search for a site appropriate to set up a center for a birds of prey interpretation centre. Out of twelve proposals, the one from  the municipality of St-Jude was retained.
  • Analysis of the proposal by the Agricultural Territory Protection Commission of Québec to use the land on the Chouette à voir! site for non-agricultural purposes.
  • Launching of the roaming educational program, a presenter is hired. A radius of 150 km around St-Hyacinhte constitutes the  area covered.

1990

  • Guy Fitzgerald shows off birds of prey in the St-Hyacinthe region schools.
  • A market study funded by the Ministry of Leisure, Game and Fisheries of Québec directs UQROP towards acquiring a private property and integrating the aviairies into a birds of prey interpretation center.Since its beginning, UQROP wanted to build aviairies for its birds of prey rehabilitation program.

1987

  • The idea of a provincial network comes to fruit in January with the creation of the Union québécoise de réhabilitation des oiseaux de proie (UQROP) having as partners the Macdonald Birds of Prey Research Centre, the Québec Zoological Garden and the Birds of prey clinic of the Université de Montréal.
  • In September, the Wildlife Service of the Ministry of Leisure, Game and Fisheries of Québec joins the list of collaborators.

1986

  • Open House at the Faculté de médecine vétérinaire of the Université de Montréal in Saint-Hyacinthe. Guy Fitzgerald, then a student in veterinary medicine and in charge of the birds of prey booth, invites the Macdonald Birds of Prey Research Center  to participate by showing off a live peregrine falcon.
  • Working at the Macdonald Birds of Prey Research Center of McGill University, Guy confirms his passion for avian medicine. Since its early days in 1972, the Macdonald Birds of Prey Center had to take care of injured birds of prey but without any organized veterinary structure. In those days, calls were made to practician veterinarians interested in taking care of these birds, which included sometimes surgery, and this without charge.
  • A sketch of a provincial network for the rehabilitaion of injured birds of prey is presented to Dr. David M. Bird, director of the Macdonald Birds of Prey Center and Dr. robert Patenaude, veterinarian at the Québec Zoological Garden. To complete the picture, steps are taken to set up a clinic to treat the birds of prey at the Faculté de médecine vétérinaire of the Université de Montréal and thus fill the gap as to the veterinary side of the rehabilitation.
  • The Birds of Prey Clinic of the Université de Montréal opens its door in August thanks to the precious help of Dr. Raymond S. Roy, dean of the veterinary school, and the finacial support of the Student Union  (AEMVQ).

• Historique et réalisation

     

    2007

    • L’UQROP se porte acquéreur d’un terrain adjacent à Chouette à voir!. Une subvention de la Fondation Hydro-Québec pour l’environnement et une autre de la fondation EJLB ont rendu l’achat possible. Le site naturel de l’UQROP occupe maintenant 21 hectares.

    2006

    • Installation permanente de l’exposition « Les chasseurs du ciel », crée par l’UQROP et le Musée du Séminaire de Sherbrooke. L’exposition s’installe dans le pavillon d’accueil.

    2005

    • Construction d’un pavillon d’accueil des visiteurs de Chouette à voir!

    2002

    • L’eau courante arrive à Chouette à voir!
    • Des présentations d’oiseaux de proie ont lieu au Zoo de Granby, ces présentations se poursuivront jusqu’à la saison 2005.

    2000

    • Des volières de présentation s’ajoutent dans le Sentier des chouettes. De nouvelles volières sont rajoutées jusqu’en 2002.

    1998

    • Mise sur pied de la « Salle de découvertes », un ensemble de jeux interactifs circulant dans les écoles de la commission scolaire de Saint-Hyacinthe. Les élèves et leurs enseignants en font une visite autonome.
    • Le site de Chouette à voir! nommé « Lauréat régional, Les Grands Prix du tourisme québécois, Tourisme durable et responsable ».

    1996

    • Premiers visiteurs à Chouette à voir!.
    • Ouverture de l’exposition « Les chasseurs du ciel », co-produite par l’UQROP et le Musée du Séminaire de Sherbrooke. L’exposition fera la tournée du Québec pendant près de 10 ans.

    1995

    • Inauguration des volières de réhabilitation.
    • En plus des animations éducatives adaptées aux différents groupes d’âge, une formation est offerte aux enseignants pour leur permettre de mieux connaître les oiseaux de proie et d’utiliser la trousse « Faucon en parle ».
    • Aménagement de sentiers sur le site de Chouette à voir!. Ces sentiers sont jalonnés de 11 panneaux d’interprétation.

    1994

    • Plantation de 81 poteaux de téléphone servant d’assises au complexe de volières de réhabilitation. C’est le début de la construction.
    • Les Forces armées canadiennes ont collaboré au projet par la construction d’un chemin d’accès, d’un stationnement et d’un pont de type Bailey au-dessus de la rivière Salvail. Le pont est inauguré le 30 octobre 1994.
    • Pose des dernières feuilles de Coroplast recouvrant les volières.

    1993

    • Préparation des lieux du futur Chouette à voir! par Flore-Aimée et Guy Benoît. Les infrastructures à implanter sur le site se résument à un chemin d’accès, un pont enjambant la rivière Salvail, un stationnement, un pavillon d’éducation, des volières d’interprétation et un complexe de volière de réadaptation.

    1992

    • Recherche d’un site propice à l’établissement d’un centre d’interprétation des oiseaux de proie. Parmi une douzaine de propriétés proposées, celle de la municipalité de Saint-Jude a été retenue.
    • Analyse du dossier par la Commission de protection du territoire agricole du Québec pour une demande d’utilisation de la propriété à des fins non-agricoles sur le site de Chouette à voir!
    • Lancement du programme éducatif itinérant, une animatrice est engagée. Le rayon d’activité est élargi à 150 km autour de Saint-Hyacinthe.

    1990

    • Guy Fitzgerald présente les oiseaux de proie dans les écoles de la région de Saint-Hyacinthe.
    • Une étude de faisabilité subventionnée par le ministère du Loisir, de la Chasse et de la Pêche (MLCP) oriente l’UQROP vers l’acquisition d’une propriété privée et vers l’intégration des volières à un centre d’interprétation des oiseaux de proie. Depuis ses débuts, l’UQROP projetait de construire des volières pour son programme de réhabilitation des oiseaux de proie.

    1987

    • L’idée d’un réseau provincial aboutit en janvier à la naissance de l’Union québécoise de réhabilitation des oiseaux de proie (UQROP) avec la participation du Centre de Recherches Macdonald sur les Rapaces, le Jardin Zoologique du Québec et la Clinique des Oiseaux de Proie de l’Université de Montréal.
    • S’ajoute en septembre la collaboration du service de conservation de la faune du Ministère du Loisir, de la Chasse et de la Pêche (MLCP).

    1986

    • Portes ouvertes 1986 de la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l’Université de Montréal à Saint-Hyacinthe. Guy Fitzgerald, alors étudiant en médecine vétérinaire et responsable du kiosque de la faune, invite le Centre de Recherches Macdonald sur les rapaces à participer à son kiosque en présentant sur place un faucon pèlerin vivant.
    • À l’emploi du Centre de Recherches Macdonald sur les Rapaces de l’Université McGill, Guy confirme sa passion pour la médecine aviaire. Le Centre des Rapaces avait déjà eu depuis ses débuts en 1972, à prendre soin d’oiseaux de proie blessés mais jamais aucune structure vétérinaire ne s’y était établie. Il fallait par conséquent à l’époque, faire appel à un vétérinaire praticien intéressé à tenter les soins tels les chirurgies et ce gratuitement.
    • Aux Drs David M. Bird, directeur du Centre des Rapaces et Robert Patenaude, vétérinaire du Jardin Zoologique du Québec est présentée l’esquisse d’un réseau québécois de réhabilitation d’oiseaux de proie blessés. Pour compléter le tableau, des mesures sont entreprises pour mettre sur pied une clinique de traitement des oiseaux de proie à la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l’Université de Montréal et ainsi combler l’aspect vétérinaire de la réhabilitation.
    • La Clinique des Oiseaux de Proie de l’Université de Montréal ouvre ses portes en août grâce au précieux concours du Dr Raymond S. Roy, doyen de la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire et l’appui financier de l’Association des étudiants en médecine vétérinaire du Québec (AEMQV).